The 2019 Plough International Poetry Prize

judged by Greta Stoddart



Open Poetry Competition 2019 - open for entries

  • 1st prize £1000
  • 2nd prize £500
  • 3rd prize £250

Entry fee £5 per poem

Competition closes 31st January 2020


Greta Stoddart’s first collection At Home in the Dark (Anvil) was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best First Collection and won the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize in 2002. Her second book, Salvation Jane (Anvil), was shortlisted for the Costa Book Award 2008. She was also shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Individual Poem in 2012. Her third book, Alive Alive O (Bloodaxe, 2015), was shortlisted for the Roehampton Poetry Prize 2016. Her latest work, a radio poem called ‘Who’s there?’ broadcast on BBC Radio 4 was shortlisted for the 2017 Ted Hughes Award.

She lives in Devon and teaches for the Poetry School and the Arvon Foundation.